I am *that friend*. I admit it. Sometimes I just can’t keep my mouth shut….

When it comes to proper carseat usage anyway.  I am the one who sees your precious little peanut in a picture on Facebook and inboxes you saying, “Oh, Baby is so cute, but did you know that she can’t wear that big bulky coat in the carseat, and those straps have to be waaaay tighter than you’ve got them.  Oh, and yeah, about that chest clip…”

I don’t know when my passion for carseat safety got so intense, but it is. I was constantly buying new seats for my son as I learned of a “better” one on the market, or one that might allow me to keep him harnessed a bit longer than the one I currently had. For years, I have been “that friend” who everyone calls to ask for advice on installing their carseat.

*Is this seat installed tight enough?

*Is this where the chest clip goes? Is she secured snugly?

*Which seat is best for my baby?

*What is the best way to install this seat? LATCH or seatbelt?

*Can I use this mirror?

*No? – Why not? it says it’s “crash-tested”!

AND, my favorite: Can I turn my one-year-old baby forward facing?  He hates to be rear-facing, and his legs are so squished! No – He needs to stay rear-facing. Take a look at some of the positions your baby or toddler plays in.  He doesn’t mind crossing his legs.  He isn’t uncomfortable. There is no question that rear-facing babies are the most protected passengers in the vehicle. Keep your baby rear-facing until at least age two, but as long as possible within the height/weight limits of your seat. Extended rear-facing just may save his life one day!

Fast forward to December 17, 2014.  My first day of my CPST Class! WOW – so informative, and humbling, too.  Found out I didn’t know as much as I thought. #neverstoplearning I love being in classes/school in general (OK, fine, I am a bit of a nerd!) Being in this class was amazing!  I was a sponge soaking it all in. I learned about all types of seatbelts, and how to use them safely and properly. I learned how to install a variety of carseats (infant “bucket” seats or rear-facing only, convertible seats – converts from rear-facing to forward-facing, combination seats – forward facing with harness, changes to belt-positioning booster, high-back boosters, no-back boosters ) in a variety of cars. Sometimes it’s not easy.  Occasionally, one carseat just may not be compatible with a particular car. There is no one universal fit.

Confused yet?  I’m not!  If you would like a private lesson on your carseat, and learn how to install it properly in your vehicle, just call me to set up an appointment. It’s probably way easier than taking a 3-day course.

Leave a Reply

