Wow! What an amazing weekend!

Laurie and I spent the weekend with 11 other postpartum doulas-in-training and it was absolutely amazing, empowering and humbling!  27 classroom hours taught by the most inspiring doula ever.  Doula Ann is, well… She’s Bomb-Diggity!

If you know me, you might find this hard to believe, but sometimes I lack a filter, or speak before I’ve given thought to my words.  Ann taught me to slow down, take a breath, and be CALM!  A new mother doesn’t need me barging in and telling her what to do or how to do it.  She needs me to calmly guide her, support her and help her and her baby be the best Mommy-Baby duo they can be!

I’m not saying I thought I knew all there was to know about baby care, but woah – there’s a whole wide world out there!  Ann shared tricks of the trade about how to listen (and read between the lines) to learn what Mom and Dad need from a doula; she gave endless wonderful advice. I am doula, hear me roar!

And, the training was located at a beautiful home with this pond:

Image

In the front yard.

In.

The.

Front.

Yard.

                     *Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

